Translation with SYSTRAN Links
Reception of the DVB by the antenna “rake”

Obligations of cover of the DVB

At the national and departmental level

The objectives of cover of the metropolitan population are defined by the law of March 5th, 2007. At the time of the definition of the list of the transmitters diffusing the DVB, the CSA was concerned following principles:

  • A minimum rate of 95% of the metropolitan population covered for the whole of the chains of the DVB;
  • A minimum rate of population covered in each department of 91% for the chains in light, in the zones where deposit rate in analogical mode reached this figure. This departmental corrective measure was founded by the Superior council of audio-visual in order to fighting against the digital divide and guaranteeing a harmonious digital installation of the territory (in the departments where the standard analogical cover is lower than 91%, the obligation of cover by the DVB is less for the multiplexings. Those are however committed ensuring a deposit rate equal or higher than that of analogical);
  • a minimum rate of population covered in each department of 85% for the pay channels.


By multiplexing 

According to the nature of the chains which compose them, the multiplexings do not have the same obligations of cover. These obligations of cover were translated by the CSA into lists of zones to cover by the chains:

On December 16th, 2008, the CSA adopted the list of 1,626 sites to be digitized by the multiplexings including at least a historical chain (R1, R4 and R6) to reach the objectives of cover set by the law and the Council.

The chains of the R2 multiplexing from now on were in addition committed diffusing on the whole of these zones.


For the R3 multiplexing, which diffuses paying chains exclusively, only 1,136 zones must be digitized to achieve the goals of cover envisaged by the law.


For the R5 multiplexing, which diffuses chains in high definition exclusively, a commitment on the unit by 1626 covered zones by the multiplexings R1, R2, R4 and R6 was made on January 31st, 2012. This deployment was done gradually with the commissioning of 1210 sites from here the end of the year 2012. The lighting of the last 416 sites, is carried out in a way synchronized with the deployment of six new chains HD carried by the 2 new networks R7 and R8. The calendar of deployment of this multiplexing is available below while following the bond:


Lastly, the two new R7 multiplexings and R8 which will diffuse starting from December 12th, 2012, 6 new chains HD were also committed covering 1626 zones gradually.


The DVB Overseas

The deployment of the DVB overseas was in the middle of the concerns of the Superior council of the audio-visual one which recommended an implementation at the same time fast and adapted to specificities of the overseas territories, in accordance with the recommendations of the “Report on the methods of development of digital television in the communities of overseas” established at the request of the Government and SCUMS by Mr. Alain Méar, then member of the college of the Council.

Digital terrestrial television is thus deployed in the departments ultramarins of the Guadeloupe, Guyana, Martinique, Mayotte and Reunion, like in St. Bartholomew's Day Massacre, Saint Martin, with Saint Pierre and Miquelon, in the islands Wallis and Futuna, in French Polynesia and New Caledonia.

A first multiplexing - ROMANIAN 1 - was commissioned on November 30th, 2010. It comprises to 10 chains: 8 public channels (Country 1st[1], France 2, France 3, France 4, France 5, France O, France 24, Arte) to which is added a maximum of two private local chains by territory. With this same date, the diffusion in analogical mode of TEMPO stopped on the whole of the departments and overseas territories. In complement, private local chains were deployed on other frequencies.

The list of the transmitters diffusing multiplexing ROM1 overseas is available below: 

The digital cover reaches 95% of the overseas population, with variations by territory.


[1] Generic name indicating the local chains of France Televisions serving each territory ultramarin: Guadeloupe 1st, Martinique 1st

To go further:

Learn more