Translation with SYSTRAN Links
The representation of diversity

The observatory of Diversity

The Observatory of diversity in the audio-visual mediums was created on March 11th, 2008 by the Council in order to follow the actions put in work by the TV channels and the radios in favour of the promotion of the diversity of the French company and to fight against discriminations, as that is envisaged in article 3-1 of the law of the modified September 30th, 1986.

Chaired by Mémona Hintermann-Afféjee, it is a privileged place of reflection on the possible prospects for improvement as regards diversity on television and to the radio, and guides the Council in its action by formulating specific proposals and by conducting publicity campaigns near the world of the audio-visual one.


It brings together the following people:

  • Mémona Hintermann-Afféjee, president
  • Sylvie Pierre-Brossolette, vice-president
  • Jérémie Boroy, advisor accessibility - ADITEVENT, Association ADITUS
  • Herve BOURGES, former president CSA
  • Pascale Colisson, teaching person in charge at the Institute of journalism of the university Paris-Dauphine
  • Pascal Josèphe, president of PJ Conseil
  • Eric Molinié, general secretary of Dalkia
  • Marie-France Picart, expert council in communication and media
  • Marie-Hélène Mitjavile, council of Member State of the CNIL
  • Daniel Picouly, writer – screenwriter
  • Bouchra Rejani, president de WeMake
  • Patrick Simon, research director with I' Ined
  • Pejman Memarzadeh, art director and musical Orchestra of Alliance
  • Sébastien Folin, presenter
  • Aurélie Cardin, director
  • Eléonore of the Cart-track, acting general Foundation Culture & Diversity
  • Najoua Arduini-Elatfani, direct Direction of the Business Development, Vinci
  • Patrick Gohet, assistant of the Defender of the rights
  • Caroline Sénéclauze, director of the “seasons of solidarity”
  • Benjamin Stora, president of the Council of orientation – National museum of the history of immigration
  • Sylvain Nivard, president of the Commission Culture of the French Confederation for the Social advancement of the Blind men or Visually impaired
  • Michel Wieviorka, president Fondation House of the social sciences
  • Shérazade Lahmeri, magistrate

Learn more

Key dates

  • 2006 - Law of March 31st, 2006 known as “law for the equal opportunity”

  • 2007 - Creation by the Council of a working group on diversity and an Observatory of diversity

  • 2009 - Law of March 5th, 2009 relating to the audio-visual communication and the new public service of television

  • March 11th, 2008 - Creation of the Observatory of diversity in the audio-visual mediums

  • November 10th, 2009 - Deliberation of the Council fixing the framework of annual commitments of the diffusers